N

State of North Dakota
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
i 600 E. Boulevard )
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505

EARLR.POMEROY "' - - s qalenponc(701)224-2440 0

COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE -

Consumer “HOTLINE” 1-800-247-0560
BULLETIN 91-7

TO: ALL INSURERS WRITING ACCIDENT AND HEALTH INS CE

FROM: Earl R. Pomeroy, Commissioner ’,,/h( ,AW,/

DATE: December 19, 1991

SUBJECT: Physician’s Limiting charge - Medicare Beneficiaries

The Insurance Department recently has become aware that some insurers are
failing to meet their obligations to Medicare beneficiaries under Medicare
supplement insurance contracts in the area of excess physician charges
(sometimes called balance billing).

Many Medicare supplement insurance policies provide coverage for some or all
of the difference between the amount Medicare recognizes as allowable and the
amount the physician actually bills the patient. In the omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act of 1989 (OBRA 1989), Congress established new limits on
physician balance billing in conjunction with Medicare physician payment
reform, called "limiting charges.” These charge limitations phase-in between
1991 and 1993. 1In 1991, the limiting charge is calculated separately for each
physician for each service. By 1993, when the Medicare fee schedule will be
in effect, the limiting charge will be more easily calculable as a apeclfied
percentage in excess of the amount determined by the schedule.

Unfortunately, some insurers are attempting to restrict their liability for
excess charges through erroneous interpretations of the new Medicare charge
limitations. The following is a list of practices in this area that the
Department has determined to be improper:

1. Limiting payments to the insured by capping reimbursement at 125
percent or 140 percent of the "Medicare approved amount” shown on
the Explanation of Medicare Benefits ("EOMB").

Explanation: This is improper for two reasons. First, this is an
incorrect calculation of the limiting charge. The limiting charge
currently must be calculated separately for each physician and
service. [The limiting charge in 1991 is generally the same
percentage (but no more than 25 percent) above the prevailing
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charge for nonparticipating physicians as the percentage by which
the physician‘’s 1990 maximum actual allowable charge ("MAAC")
exceeded the 1990 prevailing charge for nonparticipating
physicians. 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1395w-4(g)(2). The limiting charge is
not a simple multiple of the amount shown on the EOMB. The second
reason is that the charge limitations are not enforced in a manner
that ensures that patients will not be liable for amounts in
excess of the limiting charge. This is discussed more below.

2. Limiting payment tc the insured on the basis that the insured is
not legally obligated to pay more than the limiting charge amount
to the physician.

Explanation: According to the Health care Financing
Administration (HCFA), which is the federal agency that
administers the Medicare program, this is an incorrect
interpretation of the limiting charge. OBRA 1989 establishes
penalties for physicians who knowingly and repeatedly charge
beneficiaries above the limiting charge. The statute, however,
does not necessarily prevent physicians from charging in excess of
the limiting charge in some instances and does not relieve the
beneficiary of the legal obligation to pay the additional amount.
HCFA is reconsidering this position, but currently there is no
clear statement from the federal government limiting beneficiary
liability to the limiting charge amount.

3. Limiting payment to the insured on the basis that the usual and
customary amount is the limiting charge.

Explanation: The limiting charge is based on a complicated
formula which considers Medicare payment rules and the physician’s
historic Medicare billing practices. It is not necessarily
related to the usual and customary charges for the service in the
area.

The Insurance Department believes that insurers should not be using the
limiting charge to limit payment for excess physician charges unless the
insurance policy makes specific reference to the limiting charge. The
practices listed above not only have the untenable consequence of placing
Medicare beneficiaries in the middle of a technical dispute between their
insurer and their physician about federal law, but in many instances deny
beneficiaries of benefits promised in their policies.

These practices appear to constitute unfair claims settlement practices and/or
unfair trade practices under the North pakota Century code. The Insurance
pepartment is directing insurers to cease these practices in this state.
Insurers that have erroneously relied on the Medicare limiting charge to
restrict reimbursement are directed to search their claims files and correct
any errors in past claims.

Insurers with dquestions about this.bulletin should contact Vance Magnuson of
the North Dakota Insurance Department.
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