The Insurance Producer Disclosure Notice - Fees for Insurance Services (SFN 61674) form introduced as a result of the passing of House Bill 1144, relating to fees for insurance services, during the 66th Legislative Assembly can be found by clicking on the name of the form here or by visiting the Fee Information page.
North Dakota does not license private or staff adjusters.
North Dakota now requires a public adjuster license. For information on how to become licensed, view the Public Adjuster page of our website.
You can find out more information about becoming a licensed abstracter by contacting the North Dakota Land Title Association.
After completing the necessary training to become licensed for title insurance in North Dakota, you may apply for your license through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) for a fee of $100. You will also have to send in the certification for your training by an insurer.
No. Only resident producers licensed in major lines of authority are required to complete continuing education (CE) courses.
No. The bond requirement is for self-insured plans only.
The fidelity bond coverage is not acceptable for the surety bond requirement for a third party administrator.
North Dakota Workforce Safety and Insurance regulates workers' compensation.
N.D.C.C. § 26.1-04-06(2) permits the giving of a gift or promotional item by an insurance agent to a client or prospective client “if the cost does not exceed an aggregate retail value of one hundred dollars per person per year.” See N.D.C.C. § 26.1-04-03(8)(c) for life and annuity and 26.1-25-16 for property and casualty statutes. The current rebate statutes became effective Aug. 1, 2011.
North Dakota’s rebating statute was revised effective Aug. 1, 2011, to allow the giving of a gift or promotional item worth no more than $100 per person per year. The statutes place additional restrictions on who may be recipients of gifts or promotional items. The North Dakota Insurance Department has not issued any interpretive guidance on the statute as of this date.
Some specialty products may appear to have no retail value. For example, some specialty clothing manufacturers only have a wholesale price. It is recommended an insurance agent keep documentation of the money spent on such specialty items in case a complaint or question arises about gift-giving practices.
N.D.C.C. § 26.1-04-06 and other rebate statutes of the North Dakota Century Code provide that an insurance producer may not pay and an insured may not accept any rebate of a premium on an insurance policy. There is a limited exception to the rebating prohibition. An insurance producer may give a gift card up for specific merchandise or services, but may not give cash, a cash card, any form of currency, or any refund or discount in premium. Producers are cautioned to read the statutes carefully for full details of what is permitted, as there are limitations on what may be given, the dollar value of what is given, and who may be a recipient.
Expenses related to a client appreciation day would count toward the $100 per person per year limit, even if the appreciation day is open to anyone who shows up.
No. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-04-06 states that an insurance producer may not pay and an insured may not accept any rebate of the premium on an insurance policy.